Oh What Grace!

I’ve been reading Lee Strobel’s newest book A Case for Grace.  The book is a series of interviews detailing the stories of people who found grace in the most unlikely places and situations.  So far I haven’t read a single chapter without deeply reflecting on my own journey to grace.  I say journey because I feel I haven’t quite reached the point where I can accept the grace that Jesus Christ freely gives me.  I sing “Your grace is enough for me”, but do I really feel that way? Not really.  After all, I’m a sinner.  I’ve done terrible things in my past.  Sure, it’s all under the blood now – God has forgotten all about those things I did – it’s been blotted out.  Yet the Devil – that wicked liar – keeps reminding me of everything that I did.   I know the Devil is looking to get into my head and I know he has no power over me.  I’m an anointed child of God, called and chosen by Him!

But grace is elusive.  I feel like I can’t give it and I sure as rain can’t accept it.  Knowing that God’s grace is abounding and infinite helps.  Knowing that my personal grace should be a reflection of His helps.  God has been generous to me.  He accepted me as I was, still accepts me as I am – flawed and all.

Today I read something by Charles Spurgeon:

When I was coming to Christ, I thought I was doing it all myself, and though I sought the Lord earnestly, I had no idea the Lord was seeking me. I do not think the young convert is at first aware of this.

I can recall the very day and hour when first I received those truths [the doctrine of election] in my own soul — when they were, as John Bunyan says, burnt into my heart as with a hot iron, and I can recollect how I felt that I had grown on a sudden from a babe into a man — that I had made progress in Scriptural knowledge, through having found, once for all, that clue to the truth of God.

One week–night, when I was sitting in the house of God, I was not thinking much about the preacher’s sermon, for I did not believe it.

The thought struck me, How did you come to be a Christian? I sought the Lord. But how did you come to seek the Lord? The truth flashed across my mind in a moment — I should not have sought Him unless there had been some previous influence in my mind to make me seek Him. I prayed, thought I, but then I asked myself, How came I to pray? I was induced to pray by reading the Scriptures. How came I to read the Scriptures? I did read them, but what led me to do so?

Then, in a moment, I saw that God was at the bottom of it all, and that He was the Author of my faith, and so the whole doctrine of grace opened up to me, and from that doctrine I have not departed to this day, and I desire to make this my constant confession, “I ascribe my change wholly to God.”

All that to say this – God’s grace is what lead me to Him in the first place!!! Without knowing it, I have already accepted His grace.  Now isn’t it just like God to reveal something to you when you least expect it???

Leave a Reply

